I like your trial period restrictions

I like the N hours of use before you have to purchase restriction on DT. I just bought DevonThink Pro today. I started playing with it about a month ago, but then got side tracked with other priorities. Just got back to it this weekend, and confirmed that it solves some problems enough to justify the price.

Thx

I couldn’t agree more, and have lost count of how many other developers I’ve suggested use a similar evaluation style with their products instead of the typical (and more stressful on potential purchasers, IMO) N-day limits.

Follow-up: I just upgraded to DT Pro Office, so I am real believer now.

Maybe I’m the only one who’s had this problem, but I don’t like the restriction. I downloaded the trial on June 21. I’ve mostly kept DT open on my computer since because it takes so long to launch the program––I think this has something to do with the counting down, based on what I see on the screen while it’s “thinking” of opening.

On June 28, the program took my data hostage, forcing me to purchase or loose access to my data. That’s all of exactly 7 days, not 30. So I don’t understand the countdown method versus what’s advertised as 30 days. What might work well is what Scrivener does, which is give you 30 “actual” days use of the download. So if you use it for one hour each day, you have lots of “actual” days use of the product, versus just 30 calendar days.