I need some search assistance

Hello,

Why I type my name, for exemplar ‘Peter de Vries’ search results also show me websites with ‘de’ and ‘Vries’. Which searchstring gives me results with the full name ‘Peter de Vries’.

Thanks!!

Hi,

you need the option “Phrase” checked (options tab in the search window). “All words” should work in this case as well…

Hope that helped,
Maria

EDIT:

Sorry, I did not realize it is a DA question. Put your name in “”, that should do it.

I do like DevonThink, but the few days I ask myself ‘why would I buy agent’?
To scan het internet I use bloglines. In bloglines I track all marketing-blogs I need.
Using Google I find almost everything I need and Google Alert ‘alerts’ me when certain words appear.
Why should I buy Agent?

Hope someone can convince me :slight_smile:

Not to try to convince you one way or the other…

Here’s a nice thread on the deep uses of DEVONagent. As always, look for Bill DeVille’s post. Hope that helps.

Well, I’m just a newbie myself, but I’m already finding it invaluable both for my research (I’m a writer) and for my personal websurfing. I’ll summarize several immediate salient points that I like, using some recent examples.

(1) I like that I can visually browse through the page links that DA finds. As soon as I’ve completed a search, I immediately double-click on the top link, which puts me into the full browser window with the DA toolbar at the top. I use the forward arrow button to get a look at each page, which I scan for whether it’s of interest to me; if it’s not something I want, I click on the delete button next to the arrows. In only a minute or two, I’ve looked through a large number of sites and pared down the found list to the ones that are useful to me.