import data from an Excel Spreadsheet

Is there any way to import data from an Excel Spreadsheet into a new SHEET?

Should be with simple text export and import. I did not do this from Excel which I do not use, but from other apps without problem.

Maria

Yes, indeed!

Save the Excel sheet (or a selected portion) as either a Tab-delimited (TSV) or Comma-delimited (CSV) text file.

In DT Pro, select File > Import > Files and Folders to import the text file.

Then select Data > Sheets > Edit Columns to edit the column headers.

Note: You can do simple calculations on Sheets by using DT Pro’s Scripts menu and selecting the desired option.

I’m new to DevonThink, so may be missing something obvious.

I converted an Excel spreadsheet to a tab-delimited file, then imported it into DT. It shows as a txt file now, but I have no idea how to view it as a sheet.

I’d also like to be able to import Word tables the same way, and view them as sheets as well.

Any help, suggestions, would be much appreciated.

If the extension of the tab-delimited is tab, tsv or csv, then the the file should be imported as a sheet.

Thanks Christian. I actually stumbled onto that conclusion just moments ago. Excel actually has an option to export as .csv, which is handy.

For the record, I also had success importing tables from Word, by…
• converting the table to text
• choosing Tabs as the separator
• deleting all non-table text remaining in the document
• saving as text, replacing .txt extesnion with .tdf extention

When imported into DT, these open as sheets.

Again, thanks for your quick reply.

Harold

Just another quick comment on importing.

It’s very important to remove all paragraph returns from tables or spreadsheet cells before converting to text (as specified in Word Help). Extraneous paragraph returns within the table scramble everything in the imported DT sheet.

Again, for the record, paragraph returns can be stripped out of a document by: