Import record to path in specific database

first off, I’m using DTPO pb8 and i’m not very good at applescript.

that said, I’ve been mucking around with the bundled template “Project” to create a simple skeleton project for a todo database (i’m replacing Things with DTPO).

anyhoo, i want this script to place the imported structure into a specific database, and into a static path inside this DB. specifically, the DB is called “To-Do List” (filename “To-Do_List.dtBase2”). the imported structure should always be imported to the group “Active”, which is nested inside a group “Projects”, which is at the DB root ("/Projects/Active"). i’ve been trying to modify the relevant lines in the template script to do this, but can’t seem to get it to work. here’s the official code:

set theRecord to import theTemplateFiles placeholders thePlaceholders to current group
		set the name of theRecord to theProjectName

i’ve tried replacing the “current group” keyword with every variation of the static path i can think of, but none seem to work. can anyone help?

1 Like

The “to” parameter expects a reference to a group, not a path. Therefore you could use something like this:

set theDatabase to open database "<insert POSIX path to your database here>"
set theGroup to create location "/Projects/Active" in theDatabase
set theRecord to import theTemplateFiles placeholders thePlaceholders to theGroup

But adding the group to the Favorites of the sidebar to easily select the group and import the template afterwards is a more generic and useful approach too.

Christian, you’re the man. Works like a charm!!

Hi, I need the exact same feature, i tried to adjust according to my data base info but I still can’t figure out where to put your code in the actual default import script (that comes with the application). Here is my code, could you please provide me with the complete code, not just the part to add ? Thanks already !!

– Action Import.applescript