Importing data from theBrain into DT

Hi all
New to this place, I have looked around and haven’t found the answer to the following -of course, please excuse me if I didn’t look in the right places-
Having used TheBrain (currently version 11) for close to 4 years, I have generated quite a few thousand “thoughts”, links and attachments. I would now like to migrate all of this data to DT (version 3.5.1). Apparently the “best” format for exporting from TB is JSON as it preserves most of the info, links and so on.
Hence my question : how can I get this JSON data into DevonThink?
PS : I am by no means an AppleScript expert…
Thanks in advance for any help and suggestions.

Welcome @ClaudeB

There is no direct import from The Brain to DEVONthink.
And JSON data would likely not be very useful as a general format.

If you can export a few thoughts, what is contained in the JSON data?

Hi GrenouilleBleue (that’s BlueFrog in french)
TheBrain 11 offers 3 alternatives for export : JSON, a folders structure, and a text outline file.
They recommend JSON as the best choice, I take it as the richest format, offering the highest chance of transferring all the info.
Should I make a sample database and export it in each of the 3 available formats for you to take a look?

GrenouilleBleue (that’s BlueFrog in french)

Very cool! :slight_smile:
(It’s funny as I sometimes mistype my handle as BLEUFROG and think, “That looks french.” - haha)

You can do the exports, for sure. Hold the Option key and choose Help > Report bug to start a support ticket and attach files for me to inspect. Thanks!

Hi BlauerFrosch

Done! It’s ticket #274156

Haha! Got your ticket. Thanks.

Any comments regarding the JSON method (or any other?) for transferring data between TheBrain to DTP? Seems like Export > Folders may be the best alternative. Then Import Files and Folders in DT. There is no link, but it seems to keep the hierarchy. Then it is a manual job of linking between the 2 sides.