Importing email - some readable, some not

I’m brand spanking new to Devon and am currently in my trial period. So far I’m impressed, but also a little confused. In case this is important – I’m using OS 10.3.9 and have a good 20gig of harddrive still available. I’m only beginning to build the database, so there isn’t a lot of data involved.

My problem – When I import mail from the Apple Mail program sometimes the mail is readable, but sometimes it’s nothing but code surrounding the occasional word. Today, I imported several emails from a variety of senders. Some were readable, others were not. Messages sent to me exclusively, as opposed to a list, came out fine. Newsletters came out fine. Emails via listserves can out fine. However, emails from PR reps (sent to a list of undisclosed recipients) imported as code. Can anyone tell me why this happens and what I can do about it?

Many thanks.
Charmian

My guess is that the message has a file attached to it (attachment like a word document, or something like that). This hopelessly screws up the import. I have no idea how to avoid attachments getting imported (or have them imported correctly, so I can read them). I wish I did, however (hint, hint) :wink:

We are aware of the problem with multipart MIME messages (the official term for these kind of mail messages). It’s on the To-Do list. :wink:

There were no attachments, but according to Annard the mulitpart MIME issue is the problem and is being worked on.

My solution? In AppleMail, I highlight the message in question, click “Save As” and save the file as an RTF. I then import the RTF version into DT Pro and it reads just fine. I know it’s an extra step, but at least I get the information I need imported.

Charmian

Thank you for the explanation. At least I now know the trouble isn’t me!

Charmian

You could also use Services > Take Rich Note after selecting the whole mail. This will also store the sender of the mail in the URL field of the taken note.