Importing to a specific folder

I must have missed it, but how do you bring documents into a specific folder in DTP? Everytime i import something, via services, etc. it always winds up in the root DTP directory…

-ddog

Technically you can’t (AFAIK). However there are Applescripts available with names such as “Copy selection to Current Group” (this could be altered with some scripting ability) and “Copy Slection to …” which gives you a sort of dialog box where you can make your choice. I have these in my Script menu so they are available all the time. I seem to remember a plugin (Big Cat?) that allows you to use scripts in the contextual menu so that might be another idea

Preferences> Import > New Notes: (select your default… mine is called “Incoming”)

I am still new at this but I love it. However, this incarnation lacks somes of the features I took for granted in Stickybrain (no I don’t mean “SOSO Notes” - I dumped that!) such as send to folders of choice (via Services or CMenu) and Palm Synching

Still … it looks better! And, as I said, I am a newbie so I am missing loads of features

In addition to the above suggestions, you can also copy text to the clipboard and right-click on DTP’s icon in the dock and select “New With Clipboard” to import the contents of the clipboard to a specific folder. My favorite is to have DTP display its groups (Tools>Show Groups) which will float the groups window over other applications. You can minimize this window and pop it up when needed and drag any text, file, etc. into a specific folder in DTP. I do this all the time to import PDF documents into DTP. For text clippings, I use the Services shortcuts to take plain or rich text notes which then import into my Temp folder, which is described above.

Wow…I didn’t know about the dockmenu method nor the floating group box. Thats great.