Improved Comments viewing/Synopsis

I am a writer moving over to DTP from Scrivener for managing my research databases, and so far DTP has done everything I was having trouble doing in Scrivener — namely freeing documents from being tied to a specific project and better organizing snippets that don’t yet have a place — but I desperately miss Scrivener’s synopsis view. I know this has been discussed a lot, and I’m not the first to have a problem with it.

But I was wondering if there were any future plans to allow easier viewing of the Comment (“Spotlight Comments”) field? I would think this would be a fairly easy UI change, as all it would require is an option to allow that field to be able to wordwrap and allow more lines per item.

It would also be nice to make the info pane dockable as a column and to be able to better show/hide information within it.

The annotation template method is good, and I modified it to automatically offer the spotlight comments text as the annotation, but it is still not as fluid as I would like. What I really need is a quick way to see my comments for any item no matter how I arrived at it — through tag search or text search.

Is any work planned on this in the future?

+1 Very good suggestions.

The Info panel can be stretched to a good size and placed alongside any view. This yields a large working area for the comment section - in which you can do paragraphs, add lists, even change the font. The content of the Info Panel automatically changes to show the Spotlight Comment and other iinformation for whatever document or group has the focus. The panel floats on top of any view - which for some people might be even more useful than docking it.

Thanks.

That works, but it is can be a little clumsy if one must switch away from DT and would like to still be able to see the info pane, which of course disappears.