Index and Synchronizing?

I’ve read a couple of troubleshooting threads on indexing, one of which suggested that the “Synchronize” menu item under File would refresh an indexed file/folder. In my case, the menu item is greyed out.
If I have a folder in DT that was created by indexing a folder in the filesystem, what are my options to refresh the index so that new documents that have been placed in the filesystem’s folder are represented and indexed in the DT folder?

Actually DT 1.8.x does not support the synchronize command (but version 1.9 will implement this) and therefore the only possibility is to add the "Action Import" or "Action Index" folder action scripts to your folders and afterwards DT 1.8.x will import/index files added to these folders automatically.

Ah, okay. That’s not so bad - the finder script. I’m still learning DT - thanks. What might be the procedure in 1.9? Will it be to use this Synchronize option?

The synchronize command will reindex/reimport updated material and add new files to groups referencing folders.

I’ve been trying to get the Action Import script to work, with no luck. I’ve enabled the folder in question, attached the Action Import script - but when I update the folder, nothing happens. Any suggestions? I update my folders fairly frequently (almost every day) and it would make my life much easier if I could get this working.

TIA,
Bash

Bash,

this thread is related to the upcoming “Synchronize” command, see menu “File > Synchronize”. This command isn’t available in v1.8.1b (menu item always disabled) but v1.9 will introduce it.

The “Action Import” script on the other hand is only able to import files added to folders using this script (e.g. doesn’t update modified files).