Indexed file missing after renaming in one group of the same database

Hi All,

I am new to Devonthink but have imported a number of my folders to try and improve management. The folders are large with mostly PDF’s that I need to be able to search, organise and use. I have indexed the folders as I need to access them with other programs easily.

My issues are:

Issue 1. that if I rename an indexed file in Devonthink in one of my groups (a group set up to look at a set of documents) the same document in another group (also set up with a different collection of documents) the renamed file will show as ‘file missing’ in the second group (the one in which it was not physically renamed). These groups are in the same database, why can Devonthink not coordinate changes between these groups?

Issue 2. If I rename a document in Mac finder it will also show as missing, sometimes I will need to rename the documents from other programs also. Can Devonthink databases not cope with this?

Issue 3: If I have two groups in a database, group 1 is all of my documents and PDFs in my information folder, and group 2 is a subset of this information for PDFs only. If I do a search in my database it finds the same exact file, with the same location, in each group and shows me duplicate of the same document in the search. This is annoying, I only need to see it once if I am doing a full database search. Is this normal and can it be changed?

Thank you for the advice, this help forum has been very helpful so far,

Badger

Did you index the same files multiple times? It’s more actually more efficient to index them only once and to replicate them.

Where are the documents located? Usually DEVONthink should update the database after receiving filesystem events.

The search returns all items, no matter whether duplicates or not. You could either exclude one of the groups from searching (see Info inspector) or, even better, use replicants as suggested.

Thank you,