Indexed Items, WebDAV sync and iOS

I’m a new to DEVONthink.

I recently purchased DEVONthink To Go for my iPhone and liked it enough to trial DEVONthink Pro Office for my Mac Pro and MacBook Air. I run an ownCloud WebDAV server at home, and really like the self-hosted syncing available for these products!

I think I have a grasp how the database works and syncs while self-contained, but I’m trying to get my head around what happens when I index a mounted volume. I have a 3 TB Samba share on an Ubuntu server on my network, which would be nice to search from my Mac Pro. If I index this, should I expect the database on my Mac Pro to contain only the paths to files (opposed to including file content)? And if I sync this database with my WebDAV server, will only the index data be uploaded? And if I sync this database with my MacBook Air, I’ll potentially have a database with broken files paths, unless I mount the same volume?

And finally, the big question: what happens if I sync this database with my iPhone? The iPhone app presumably won’t mount the Samba share, so will this mobile version of the database simply never contain file contents?

I’m probably missing something obvious, so thanks in advance for helping me figure this out!

Correct.

If you Sync with the WebDAV server and there are no contents on the WebDAV volume, then it logically follows that no, you will never get contents from it.

Thanks for your reply. I guess I wasn’t clear what it was that got stored in a dtCloud file on my WebDAV server. Is this database file identical to the database file on my local machine? Or is it in a special format specifically for remote syncing?

I had tried syncing some indexed image files (index of a SMB volume on my Mac), and was surprised to see the image appear on my iPhone, even though the file contents should be empty. Does the meta data include a preview image perhaps?

Thanks for answering my beginner questions. :slight_smile: