Indexing a dropbox folder; access from DTTG on iOS

I’m new to DTPO and trying to sort out my setup. I have a dropbox folder on my Mac harddrive that I have indexed in DTPO. I assumed that only the metadata, and not the pdf’s, would be available in DTTG iOS app. But to my surprise, I can click on the database items in DTTG on my iPad and then click to download the pdf’s. So question 1: how in the world is the iOS app getting the pdf’s from my Dropbox folder?

I then tried annotating those pdf’s using DTTG on my iPad. Initially the annotations I created appeared to propagate back to my Dropbox folder. But I also got weird “file is corrupted” errors when trying to access those pdf’s through PDF Expert on my iPad. And then this morning the annotations seems to have disappeared. So question 2: Is there a way to open these pdf’s through the DTTG app, annotate them, and have the annotations saved back into Dropbox? Or do I have to open these pdf’s from an iOS app that has more direct access to Dropbox, like PDF Expert?

Any insights you could offer would be greatly appreciated!

You cannot index data in DTTG, nor can it access the files in Dropbox.
If you index on the Mac and sync it, the contents will sync by default and be available to DTTG (or other Macs). This is the correct thing to do with DTTG in the mix.

I can’t speak to whatever issue you’re referring to with the PDFs but you are not annotating PDFs with DTTG that are stored in Dropbox. They are stored locally in your database in DTTG.

I do that way and never experienced that issue. However I do some extra steps.

There is some “magic” under the way DTTG handles indexed items done with Desktop DT. When you index in DT, a local copy of the file is stored in the Sync Database (but not in the DT local database).