Indexing set up (again) - could you help me think this through, please?

Hi, I’ve been digging around the forums but am still trying to work out what best to do - and some of the responses are quite old now so I’m not sure what’s up to date advice.

My situation: I’m studying again (mature student, part time). Right now I don’t really need to make use of a reference manager / bibliography, but may well need to in the future. I have fully licensed DTP, but am really only using it as a repository of PDFs, do the occasional search (more of that in the future, I suspect) and to OCR scanned documents (ca 5% of my documents). I have a few hundred (possibly 800?) PDFs, some that are core reading and some that I’ve collected as further reference.

I’m a very heavy iPad user (80% of my study time) and want to annotate PDFs using hand written annotations rather than text based highlighting. I currently don’t have much of a need for exporting annotations - I’m actually trying to replicate a pen on paper approach so am using split screen on iPad to annotate PDF on one side and jot bullet notes of what I’m reading in a notebook with the Apple pencil on the other side. Occasionally, though, I’ll select text in the PDF and drag and drop it into my notebook - hence why the OCR recognition is useful.

However, the annotation in DTTG isn’t so great - no dark mode (I do quite a bit of reading in bed and don’t want to disturb my husband!) and no bookmarking. Bookends annotation looks similar but has more functionality. So as far as I can see, if I want to continue to use DTP, is:

1- keep all PDFs in Bookends for a) future proofing of referencing and b) better annotation, and index into DTP. BUT I can’t get Bookends syncing to work smoothly across my two iPads and the MacBook, not helped by only having a trial Bookends licence which means I don’t have mac cloud sync (and I don’t currently have £60 to spend on a software set up I’m not fully sure I’ll adopt)