Is DevonThink for me?

I am pretty new to Devonthink. Just downloaded Devonthink Pro yesterday and have been playing around with it. I am not sure if it’s for me. I am a PhD student with tens of thousands of photos of historical documents taken from different archives around the world – in different languages (but mostly in English and French). Someone recommended that I should try Devonthink and see if it can make my life any easier in terms of organizing my photos, finding them on a timely manner, and reading them. I am however pretty organized with my photos. They are in folders and subfolders and I have a spreadsheet that tells me about groups of images (but not single images). So when it comes to organization, I am not sure if Devonthink would bring something more for me. I know that it has a capability to cross reference but is there something more fundamental than that?

What I want from a software like this above all is to be enable me to view my photos (in order to read them) easily, rotate them fast, and go through hundreds of photos within a single file quicker than I do with, let’s say, Preview. So far, rotating photos and flipping through them have not been all that easy for me.

Any recommendations as to what I should do?

There is something else. I thought that DevonThink can read through pdf files and can tell me what are some key words in a single article (in pdf form). But it seems that this feature in DevonThink is not all that accurate. I tried it with one article and the results were not any better than the search option on the pdf file itself.