is DT designed to sync more than one Mac over dropbox?

I’m new to DT and am not clear on the issue as to whether DT is designed to sync more than one Mac over dropbox. I’ve uncovered discussion of a “sync plugin” that is supposed to address this issue and can’t tell if it is out of beta. Presumably it is part of DT by now and I wonder if I need do anything to configure or activate it.

I also read where one should import the database every time one switches computers rather than synchronizing. This works but it isn’t really synchronizing, but rather copying the entire database every time. Doesn’t seem too practical.

I like the DT product and love the idea of DT. I just have had repeated problems trying to sync the two Macs over dropbox.

I’m successfully syncing two Macs via Dropbox. The setup procedure is as follows:

On the origin computer:

Make sure the Dropbox software is installed and configured with your account.

Open the database you want to sync.

DevonThinkPro -> Preferences -> Sync tab. All your open databases will appear in the first pane. Select the one you want to sync.

In the second pane, set the synchronization times.

In the third pane, set the sync destination. This will be your Dropbox account. Double check the sync times after you do this, as the settings sometimes don’t seem to “take.”

(The first time you do this, Dropbox will ask if DTP is allowed to use your account. Say yes, obviously.)

Click the button to “Sync Now,” and wait for it to finish.

On the destination computer:

Make sure the Dropbox software is installed and configured to access the same account.

Go to the Sync tab and click Import Database. DTP will offer you first the chance to select your Dropbox account, then ask which database you want. The selected database will then appear in pane 1.

Proceed as above.