Linking to an e-mail

I’ve been using the following script for a couple of months now, both with Merlin and DEVONthink, in order to create quick “links” to particular e-mail messages in Apple Mail. It’s not a very pretty script, but it does get the job done.

Here’s what you do: Select an e-mail in Apple Mail, and then run this script (I use FastScripts Lite to bind the script to a key, like Control-Apple-R). The script takes a few seconds, then reveals a folder to you in the Finder with your e-mail file selected.

This file will not resemble your e-mail in any way. It will have a strange name, like “38578.emlx”. Anyway, just drag this file over to DEVONthink, and hold down Command-Option as you release it. This causes a link to the e-mail file to appear in DEVONthink, with the same crazy filename as the title.

Another thing the script does is copy the e-mail’s subject line to your clipboard. So just click on the title to rename it, and past the subject as its title.

The reason I manually paste in the title is that Merlin has no Applescript support at all. I’m sure this script could be improved for DEVONthink to do the importing/renaming automatically, behind the scenes. I’ll probably get on that soon.

Now that your e-mail is linked in DEVONthink, just double-click on it to reveal the message in Apple Mail. It even has a cute Apple Mail icon next to it. Handy for keeping a quick pointer to a significant project e-mail within your DEVONthink group for that project.

John

p.s. This script only works if the volume where you store your e-mail is being indexed by Spotlight, since it relies on Spotlight metadata to associate a particular e-mail with its filename (something Mail scripting will not tell you).

tell application "Mail" to set mailList to selection

try
	tell application "Mail" to set {myTitle, myID} to {subject, id} of item 1 of mailList
on error
	display dialog "Check that you have an email selected in Mail.app" buttons {"OK"}
	return
end try