Locked files - can't edit

Using the v 3 beta, my text files are coming up locked against editing (little pencil with line thru it). I cannot figure out why this happens, nor how to toggle it. What am I missing here?

Can you post a screencap?

sure…
screen

Probably you have the standard DT3beta1 smart rules activated, they lock files if they are >30 days old, as far as I know.

Thanks. And I change that where…? I see how to add one, but don’t see how/where to turn one off. I have a list of smart groups in the left hand column, but nothing named “smart rules.” I see that smart rules have a little gear icon, but I don’t see that icon on my affected document.

okay, if there are no smart rules in your sidebar, then this is not the reason for your problem.

That shows the file is not editable, as not all files are. What kind of document is this?

It is a standard text document that I have been editing in DT for about 6 years now. It’s a collection of my software registration and serial numbers. It did not appear as non-editable until I installed the beta.

added…
However, I just moved to a new Mac, and the permissions on the file included “Fetching…”, and I could not, because of that, change or add any permissions. Finally, I dragged the db to a differnet drive, changed the permissions, and dragged it back. Now the file is editable again.

Glad to hear it’s working now. Cheers!

As it turns out I have the same problem. When revealed in finder the files are not locked, and I have read and write privileges enabled. I wonder what @BLUEFROG or others would suggest to remedy.

What kind of document is locked, what’s its filename extension?

It’s a PDF file (.pdf). It’s happened for a host of files that I brought in via the “Import, OCR, and Delete” script

1. Open /Applications/Utilities/Terminal.app
  2. Paste: grep -aiEc 'CID|identity-h' , press spacebar once, then drag and drop a problematic PDF into the Terminal window, and press Return.

What is reported?