Looking for tutorial for Bonjour sync

I’m looking to sync DT and DTTG via Bonjour. I hunted all over the forum and found links to a tutorial, but every time I clicked I got a 404 page. There must be a tutorial somewhere; can anyone help me find it? I have never used Bonjour before and need real step by step instructions.

1 Like

There’s a very clear explanation on page 54 of the downloadable PDF help file.

Stephen

1 Like

I have never used Bonjour before…

Perhaps not to sync your DT database, but if you’ve used Apple products you probably used Bonjour before :slight_smile:

Bonjour is a network protocol to discover devices, primarily used by Apple. Developers can use Bonjour for all kind of services and devices.

Fun fact: Bonjour was originally called Rendezvous, but Apple changed it due to a trademark situation. They stuck with French apparently:
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bonjour_(software)

if you’ve used Apple products you probably used Bonjour before

True but it’s also used by non-Apple products as well.

From Help > Documentation > In & Out > Sync

Thanks for the tips! I forgot about the manual. I’ll check it out.

And I saw that bit in the Help documentation. I suppose I meant to say that I’ve never intentionally used Bonjour. As in, I’ve never had to know what it was or how it worked. Thanks for the background.

1 Like

As in, I’ve never had to know what it was or how it worked.

And I think that’s exactly what Apple hopes to achieve!

I’m pretty sure Apple follows Dieter Rams’ rules in their physical design, and probably try to adhere to them in software engineering as well.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dieter_Rams

Rule 4 states “Good design makes a product understandable (…) At best, it is self-explanatory.“

So does a user need to know what Bonjour is? Or can we do without?

So does a user need to know what Bonjour is? Or can we do without?

"Do you need to know how the sausage is made?’ :thinking::stuck_out_tongue: