Luddite newbie here, no longer able to filter duplicates

So when I first started DTP3 a week ago, the system magically removed duplicates for me
and I was busy tearing through my old, cluttered Evernote and Mac files,
on a removal bender.

Then I pressed index instead of import and spent the next few days laboriously deleting and rebuilding - all of which is to say that I really don’t organically get how these programs work,
so I need the instructions to be very basic.
I have read through the various forums here about applying smart rule formulas to older versions of DTP, and I don’t know if the info is now redundant b/c of the app upgrade, but even if it isn’t
I find the instructions as to how to create a smart group not synonymous with the smart group rules that I pull up when I click create smart group!

The “filter duplicate” function no longer seems to work for me -
I have tried applying it to various databes, singly, in batches, etc. I have even tried to apply it to a group of notes and it won’t work.

Clearly I have done something to change this function, so my question is:
how do I change it back so that duplicates are once again effortlessly removed to a smart group I can then review?

Thank you in advance for any assistance!

Welcome @PaperandPen

I find the instructions as to how to create a smart group not synonymous with the smart group rules that I pull up when I click create smart group!

Can you clarify what this means and where you’re looking?

The “filter duplicate” function no longer seems to work for me -

A screen capture of the settings of the smart rule could be helpful.

Thank you Bluefrog for your welcome & quick response!

So perhaps the issue is that I simply don’t know how to create a smart group correctly,
or use the duplicates correctly. But as a concrete example I am attaching two screenshots, the first of supposed number of duplicates within a specific database, here supposedly 0,