Mark as Read changed?

In DT2 if I had a combination of read and unread items in my Inbox I could select all and choose Mark as Read (via contextual menu). In DT3 there’s only the option of Mark as Flagged, Unread, and Locked.
In fact, I don’t see Mark as Read anywhere.
Why the change?

Things not marked Unread are logically Read, otherwise they are explicitly marked Unread.

The option depends on the current selection and its marks.