Maximum Database Size

I’m new to the program (purchased yesterday) and prior to restructuring my personal processes wondered what the maximum recommended database size is relative to performance, and if there is in fact an actual maximum?

The answer will really help determine just how much I rely on the program.

Thanks very much :exclamation:

I’m sure it’s in the gigabytes.

Thanks - gigabytes are good - 4-5 would do the job(s). I appreciate the reply.

Carts

One user tells me he has dumped 24 GB of images into his DT Pro database.

It takes about 90 seconds to initialize and load, but runs OK.

As of this morning, my DT Pro database contains the following:

286,598 unique words, 29,714,455 total, made up as follows:

1,857 groups, 569 HTML Pages, 1 XML file, 130 images, 171 Web Archives, 5236 Links and 25,085 Rich Texts.

I am about one third of the way through capturing data for a knowledgebase I’m creating, so I fully expect this database to end up with 70-80 million words, maybe more.

So far, no problems. It runs fine. Searches are usually rapid apart from searches for phrases which I have always found to be a complete waste of time as they take forever and I have better things to do than watch a spinning beachball for minutes at a time.

I do make sure I back-up several times a day, just to be safe. That takes time, so I tend to do it if I go to have a meal, or am going out.

I don’t ever see this mentioned in other posts, but I have found that following lots of links pushes up the size of the file astronomically. I can browse, say, 100 links, and it will often add 3-4 GB to the file size. That is taken care of as soon as I “back-up and optimise”, but it doesn’t half fill the disk rapidly if you don’t!!!

I would like to see some kind of a preference that limits cache sizes, since I think this is way over the top. Has anyone else had this issue?

Rollo