Memory Leaks

I’m a newbie and have DT Pro. So far the program uses a TON of memory and it gets worse the longer I have the program active. I’ve only used it to set up two databases which indexed subsections of my Documents directory. When DT Pro first opens, it is using 400mb of memory but after about an hour it is using over 1gb of ram when it is sitting idle. Is there something I can do about this?

Is that with DT Pro 2.0.7, which version OS X are you running, and how much total RAM on your system?

Yes, it is DT Pro 2.0.7. I’m running OS X 10.6.6 with 8gb ram. Yes, a gig of ram won’t bring my system down to a crawl, but that is still way to memory intensive compared to some other programs I use.

What are your databases sizes? Maybe post Statistics of them from File > Database Properties…, e.g.:

DTPO stats.png

I’ve attached a screenshot of statsitcs for my two databases. When I created them, I only indexed the files since I’m not yet ready reorganize some of my files. What was most important to me, for now, was to be able to have a more effective tool for searching through them than what Spotlight offers.

Even though I’m just indexing them for now, should I have a greater number of databases that index portions of what I have already indexed?

Thanks for posting those Statistics images. Doesn’t surprise me DT will (eventually) consume a lot of RAM with 6.3GB+22.GB sized databases open. :slight_smile:

Maybe it seems idle but is doing some normal internal/background processing during that time to account for that increased RAM usage? I’ll let you know if I can reproduce similar behavior here, though with smaller databases and no indexed documents. Edit: Nope; slightly less real memory usage after leaving a freshly launched DTPO process sit idle for a couple hours. Don’t know if interaction with it for awhile before leaving it idle would make a difference.

I’m not sure; hopefully someone else posts a definite answer.