Missing Image on Import

Hi, all–

I’m very new to DevonThink. I’ve heard other writers rave about the software so I purchased it for my research files. I have the Office Pro version, if it matters. I just created a database for the files & emails I downloaded from several online classes. But the images for one of the classes are not loading in DevonThink, just the text of each file. The files are .doc.dot & I’ve tried importing them as such. I’ve also tried converting the files to .docx first. The files open fine in Word 08 and in NeoOffice, but as soon as I import the files to DevonThink, I lose the images. Any suggestions?

–Candace

DEVONthink is using code built into OS X that allows indexing and capture of the text content (only) of Word .doc files.

DEVONthink retains a Path link to the original .doc file, so it can be opened for viewing or printing by using the Launch Path command in DEVONthink.

If you wish to see the original formatting, layout and images you can “print” the file from Word to result in a PDF version saved in the database. With the .doc file open in Word, press Command-P to open the Print panel, click on the PDF button and choose “Save to DEVONthink Pro Office”.

Thanks! This is exactly what I needed. (Creating pdfs) I’m really liking this software, but I have another Q. Perhaps you could help.

I write military/political thrillers, hence, I have a lot of data stored across the topic spectrum. I’m not sure how zealous I should be in creating separate databases since there’s a lot of overlap for individual books.

Is there a way to split a database into two or more databases once they’re set up? Also, can I combine two databases at a later date? I can’t seem to locate this subject in the help manual.

–Candace

Yes. To split a database, first create a new folder in the Finder, that’s to be used to temporarily hold the material being transferred.