My System

I love DEVONthink! I’ve been using it for more than five years now. Here is the system I’ve evolved in that time. My workflow is as follows:

• Get mail from the mailbox, and receipts from my wallet. They go into a physical inbox sitting on my desk. I scan every piece of paper that enters my life, whether it needs to be scanned or not. You just never know!
  • Every 1-2 weeks, I take out scissors, pen, a letter opener and a staple remover. I use these to turn the stack of mail/receipts into a stack of scan-ready paper.
  • I scan them all with a Fujitsu ScanSnap into an Inbox directory within an encrypted sparse bundle. I’ve scanned nearly 10,000 pages with this scanner by now!
  • After scanning, I run Acrobat Pro and OCR all the documents. I turn them into PDF/A files using Searchable (Exact), so that the original scan image is left untouched. The file is bigger, but more accurate.
  • After OCR’ing, I drag-and-drop these files into the Inbox of a DEVONthink database on that same encrypted sparsebundle. This database is 10.4G now, 8.3G of which are PDFs!
  • Every 1-3 months, I use the Group & Classify pane in DEVONthink to sort the new Inbox items into groups. I love how accurate this is, now that I have so many classified documents (just over 6,100). I only have to manually classify about 1/3 of the time.
  • I don’t use tags (yet), but I do make use of multiple groups and replicants. I love that in the Group & Classify pane, I can click on multiple suggested groups and DEVONthink replicates the document into all of them. For example, any time I receive a tax document, I replicate it both to the bank’s group (Banking/Foo/Checking), and also to a group named after the tax year (Taxes/2011).