Need some advice (long post)

I’ve been trying out DEVONthink (Dt) for awhile now, and while I’m continually impressed by its abilities, I also am quickly getting the impression that my initial needs (or rather “wants”) is beyond Dt’s capabilities. I was hoping that if I outline my wants, someone could help me out with how Dt could be used to achieve them. I’ve now spent a lot of time trying to determine an optimal usage scenario for Dt, and either I’m not understanding it 100%, or my needs are beyond the scope of the personal edition of Dt (But the Pro info. on the website hasn’t answered these questions for me).

I’m a pack rat when it comes to data and information, and I have been into PC’s for awhile now, so I’ve amassed a rather sizable collection of files to deal with. I’m also a developer, and want to be able to quickly glean what file would be best for me to peruse when I need to find a solution to a particular problem. This goes for my other interests as well, whether it’s indexing fictional texts, wallpaper images, or my personal and financial documents.

As such, I have about 6.5 gb’s of ebooks I want to index in Dt. The ebooks consist primarily of pdf’s, but also contain a lot of “indexed” html (meaning that it’s a local copy of a website, or a series of html-based manuals, similar to the O’Reilly developer series). These ebooks are arranged, on the hard drive, in manners similar to the following example, and are often mixed in with web clippings, and articles I’ve archived from online sources:

/Manuals and Instructional/Software/Development/PHP/PHP5

I was able to just drag a large series of these over, and into Dt, but somewhere along the way, they stopped copying accurately, meaning that if I dragged a group of files over from my hard drive, to link to Dt, not all of the files would end up linked.