New in Devonthink. When I click "Search Inspector" in a Word-file it is greyed out and I am not able to search for anything within a document

Hi,

I am new to Devonthink and I am reading the book “take control of Devonthink”. There it states that if you want to search within a document, you can click “search inspector” to search within a document. However, when I try this within a Word-document, it is always greyed out and I can’t search within the document.

However, if I do a general search within all databases on a keyword in a Word document, it does find that specific word and from there I do can search with “search inspector” by deleting the found word and replacing it with another word for example.

The key question is: how do I solve that I can search within a Word document with search inspector?

Thank you so much for helping!

Hi @Joris2112 and welcome :slight_smile:

I can confirm exactly that behaviour (in my test case: macOS 11.1, DT 3.6.1 Pro, indexed Word document). @BLUEFROG I have never noticed this before - is this a bug?

Thanks Blanc!

I’ve been exploring a bit more, and it seems that if I click on “Text alternative” the docx.-document becomes searchable within the document itself. However, I would like that it becomes searchable within “Best alternative” given that this keeps the original formatting of the .docx document.

To continue on the “Best alternative” vs “Text alternative” in combination with the search function, it seems that when I start a search in the general search function and it finds a match in a .docx-document, it previews this document in the “Text alternative” mode. From thereon, I want to click “Best alternative” (as explained, due to the fact that it has the original formatting), but this is not possible. The “Best alternative” does not respond.