New to DevonThink; help needed.

Hi,

I’m new to DevonThink; got it as part of the MacHeist bundle currently running.

Right now, I’m trying to wrap my brain around what it can do. Specifically, I’ve been using Sticky Notes/Chronos Notes for several years to hold and catalogue things like web purchase receipt pages, interesting emails that I think I might have use for later, etc. What’s not immediately clear to me is what Devon Think offers that Chronos Notes does not. And if I switch, is there a way of getting my current Chronos Notes database into Devon Think?

All my best,

Steve

Hi:

Never got a response to this, and thought I’d repost. Any takers?

Thanks in advance,

Steve

Hi, Steve. If you search for “sticky” you can find a number of posts on the forum.

This two may help: http://www.devon-technologies.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1942&highlight=sticky, http://www.devon-technologies.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1591&highlight=sticky

Thanks a lot for the reference, Bill. I think that what I really need to do is dig into the Devon Think docs and see what it’s “about” before comparing it to Chronos Notes.

Thank you,

Steve

Hi Steve: fwiw, and imo only, I think you’ll short-cut a lot of digging in the docs by checking out this official tutorial/screencast. Lots of :bulb: in that video. Spend the 20 minutes first; then the docs should be much more helpful.

I am a long time user of DTP, since the early betas.

I own 5 or 6 of the current “state of the art” info-managers including, of course, DTPO.

I owned sticky brain and evaluated SOHO notes. DTP is heads and shoulders beyond SOHO. So much so that it may seem a bit intimidating.

I am still discovering uses and functionalities of DTP after many years of use.

There are myriad ways to integrate DTP into workflows and much more will come after Leopard has been released and matures a tad, later this year with DTP 2.x.

DTP can already “do so much” it’s almost not an application as much as an environment.