New to DTP - Organization Strategies question

I am very new to DevonThink (Pro), and have a very simple, basic question.

I have a wide variety of information, contained in all kinds of different formats (images, movies, music, scripts, Word .doc files, email, Excel files, etc), contained in a very well structured series of directories, that all have the common root ~/Projects.

In the past I have used a variety of information management tools, as well as leveraging everything that OS/X has under the hood, including AppleScripts, Automator actions, perl scripts, etc…

DTP looks like an absolutely wonderful way to get a much better overview of all my data. So, my question is this:

I have roughly 3 million different files in the afore-mentioned Projects collection. What I would like to do is use DTP to access this entire collection, but also maintain my directory structure, and the ability to work with the individual files simply by using the Finder, Spotlight, whatever Apple decides to throw into OS/X with 10.5, etc.

I would like to be able to work with – for instance – a rich text file, sort, organize, manipulate the data within DTP, and have the changes reflected in the original file(s) on the filesystem.

Is there any specific advantage to simply importing the entire Projects directory with it’s 3 million+ files, into a DTP database, or can I simply drag and drop the whole thing, and make it use links to reference the original files.

Far more important: Can DTP reSycnhronize itself to reflect changes/additions to my Projects directory that occur OUTSIDE of DTP. (For instance, I add a new directory to ~/Projects/ … I would like for this change in the filesystem and any new data/files to simply show up in DTP, without having to manually keep track of/re-import the files.