New users of DT3 First attempt to set up not done very well - Should I reinstall?

I am new to both DT3 and Bookends. I want to use DT3’s database to search Bookends and other non-Bookends files associated with an academic research and writing project. My initial set up of DT3 is quite awkward and I’m not sure it is searching properly. Should I uninstall DT3 and start over again (now I have Take Control of DT3 book, so I will create a more rational setup.

I don’t mind doing it this way, even if it is more work, because I will learn how to use the program better. I am just not sure if you can uninstall/reinstall and if it will clear what is presently jumbled.

Sorry for my complete ignorance – and thanks to anyone who can help!

Welcome @Harold

There’s no need to uninstall the app. Check out the Help > Documentation > Getting Started chapter. You can make and delete databases at your whim. There’s no right or wrong way to organize. You do what makes sense to you and allows you to be as efficient as you want to be with it.

What exactly is “jumbled” ?

I created static groups that don’t make too much sense. I think if I can delete and create new databases I will solve my problem. Thanks for the quick reply. My project has so many aspects that are created in different programs that without DT I think I would be quickly overwhelmed.

You’re welcome. And yes, databases can be created and deleted as needed (though I hope you’re observing proper primary backups).

Cheers!

I think when I first setup DT3 that I imported files and folders into the databases I created – and did not delete the originals. If that’s what I did it means deleting a database in DT3 will do nothing to the files & folders outside DT3 – correct?

Related question: How do I know for sure that this is what I did? Can I tell by looking at something in DT3?

Correct. Importing copies the files into the databases. This is the default behavior.