Newbie getting orientated

After a short trial with DT, I purchased DT Pro and I’m now in the learning/getting started period. I have a group of about 1500 nested Word files that I would like to work with. For now, my main goal is to use DT as a search engine. Am I right in understanding that there are two ways of organizing, actaully importing files within DT, and indexing? What’s the difference in strategy?

Here’s a real newbie hurdle: Whenever I startup DT, I’m somewhat at a loss because there is no starting window. I have to go to “file” then “open database” to get any kind of window up. I did import a bulk of folders into DT and have successfully run searches. But it seems each time I open the program I have to reopen the database through the “file” and “open database” menu. Have I not set things up right?

To answer the last part (since I’m a newbie too can’t help you with the eariler), you can select a default database through database properties (when DB is open) which would then open automatically the next time. You can also set a password there is you wish to protect it.

Welcome, Nate:

In DT Pro 1.0.2 you will probably want to choose between 1 of two options for your Word files:

[1] File > Import > Files & Folders. The text content only of the Word documents will be captured as rich text in your database. The Word files remain external to your database and are accessible using Actions > Launch Path. Note that edit changes in the original Word documents will not be reflected in your database; you would have to reimport the file to see changes made under MS Word. Note also that, although you can edit the rich text in the DT Pro database, changes will NOT be reflected in the external Word file.