Newbie OCR Questions: DTPO vs. ScanSnap Manager

Hi, newbie here!
I’m getting ready to scan & OCR a large number of documents. I have DevonThink Pro Office version 2.7.6 on an iMac running OS X 10.9.3.

I also purchased a Fuji ScanSnap iX500, and I’m running the ScanSnap Manager version 6.2 L11.

I see that both DTPO and ScanSnap Manager can perform the OCR task, so I did an experiment: I scanned 12 sheets and had ScanSnap Manager perform the OCR. I then disabled OCR in ScanSnap Manager, and enabled OCR in DTPO. I tried the Fast, Automatic, and Accurate settings.

I was surprised to see such a large difference in file size. the files created by DTPO were about 50% larger than the file created by ScanSnap Manager. i was using ScanSnap manager’s default compression setting (3), and in DTPO I was using “Same as scan” for resolution, and 75% for quality.

But even more surprising was the difference in the time it took to process the 12 sheets. ScanSnap Manager completed the task, including the time to import to DTPO, in 1 min. 11 sec.

On the “Fastest” setting, DTPO took 7 min. 35 sec. to do the same thing! And on the “Accurate” setting, the time increased to 9 min. 9 sec.

So it appears that ScanSnap Manager is 6 - 8 times faster than DTPO, depending upon the DTPO setting chosen.

I have two questions. First, might I be doing something wrong in my test, causing this disparity?

And second, is something more going on with DTPO which would justify the added time? In other words, would I be better off, for some reason, having DTPO perform the OCR, despite the larger file sizes and much longer times?

Thanks for any insight you can provide!

My suggested strategy is to run the same document through both programs and then examine the resulting document for clarity and accuracy.