Newbie - Organizing Bills, paperwork etc.

Hi. Newbie here :slight_smile: I’m looking into using this software to scan and organize the mound of paperwork that perpetually grows on my desk. I’ve played around with the demo and I’m able to use my Canon MX700 printer scanner along with ExactScan Capture to scan documents into DTP Office. Right now I’m using it mostly for bills I’m paying. Instead of manually writing “paid” on a paper bill and throwing it onto one of the 9 boxes in my closet, I’d like to scan it, store it in DTP, shred/recycle the original and have it marked as paid in DTP along with searchable “fields” showing the amount paid, date due, date paid, name of vendor etc. Can this type of workflow be automated more or less in DTP Office?

There are a number of ways to approach those objectives, although not with ‘searchable fields’ added to the PDF.

A bill that has not yet been paid might be flagged, labelled or tagged as such. When I pay a bill by check, I’m in the habit of scanning the check and/or receipt. Within the database I can then merge the bill PDF and the check/receipt PDF into a single document and remove the marker (Flag, Label or Tag) for an unpaid bill.

Another approach could be to create a rich text note that’s associated by a hyperlink to the PDF of the bill. The smart template ‘Annotation’ (based on a script) might be a model that could be modified for that purpose, with appropriate cues for information such as Vendor, Amount, Date Paid, etc. If you don’t wish to get into scripting, just lay out the format of such a rich text document and Export as Template. Now the format will be available for use.

If you do quarterly reports, you might create a Tag such as ‘2010 Qtr 2’ and apply it to your bills.