Newbie qn: Spotlight comments

A newbie question here, forgive me if it’s been asked and addressed elsewhere; my search of the BB has been inconclusive:

When I import a file into DTP, what happens to the Spotlight comments/tags that I added to the file while in Finder (via TagBot, Punakea, Leap, etc)? Are they still somewhere associated with the file in DTP? If so, I can’t seem to find them; search attempts (I tried using weird-name tags, like “wburba,” just so they’d stand out in the search results) produce zero returns. Am I missing something obvious? Truth be told, I’m new to the whole tag-your-files movement, so the hidden power of all this tagging I’m doing is still lost on me, but it is a fun and theoretically productive way to procrastinate.

Also, I keep wishing for a simple way to tag files as I import them into DTP, preferable through some sort of dialogue box (and preferably in a manner that doesn’t require me to have my DTP database open at that moment). Are there scripts available that do this? (Not that I know jack about scripting either.)

I’m trying very hard to like DTP, I can see it’s a powerful tool for my needs (I write nonfiction books and gather lots of research), but yikes the entry barrier is high for a technodummy like me. All this talk about scripts and folder actions, reminds me of the days of rummaging around in my WinXP regedit files – and boy did I not have any idea what I was doing back then! :smiley:

For the Spotlight comments: go to the application Preferences > Import tab. First item in the list named “General”. That will do what you want.

Thank you, Annard! I thought I’d looked in there, but must have missed it. Now to figure out what to actually do with all those tags I labored so hard to input …