newbie questions re: services

Hi. I’m new to Mac, and new to Devonthink. I’ve just downloaded the trial version, like it, and am trying to figure out the Services feature. When I’m browsing in Firefox, highlight text, and check the services item in main menu, I have yet to see anything like a feature that is specific to DT that will let me shoot it over and become a new item. I have done some exploring and can’t find an obvious answer to this. I don’t know if the issue arises from my my DT or OSX ignorance.

What should I be seeing as a service? How do I get it there.

Any help is appreciated.

thanks
angus

Hi,

this is a problem that has do to with Firefox, not with Devonthink. Firefox does not support features specific to Mac OS X, as it is developed platform-independent. So it does not support services, among a couple of other things (for example, firefox has its intern way of handling passwords, while other apps more tailored to the mac use the keychain already supplied by OS X).
You can use Camino instead, which is very similar to Firefox, and supports services. You will, however, only be able to send plain text to DT. You can of course also use Safari, and then RTF is also possible.

Best,
Ben

I appreciate your response.

Does Safari have to be the default browser? Are there any other steps? Because when I browse with Safari, I still don’t see anything DT specific under Services.

Oh ok, so it might be yet something else (although the information about firefox not supporting services is correct indeed).
First thing that comes to my mind is that you need to restart the finder (or reboot your computer) for the DT service menu entry to become listed.

Best,
Ben

and I forgot: no need to make safari the default browser!

Thanks! That worked great.

Here’s a funny thing - in Firefox now, I can see the DT services, but when I have text selected the all the options are grayed out, I can’t actually use them. Any ideas?