Newbie Questions

Hello,

I am new to Devonthink via the Macblast Tweet and have several questions on how best to use this program. I am a humanities professor, with lots of pdf handouts for teaching and documents for research. I have virtually no need for statistics or numbers of any kind but might need to bring in an excel sheet or two of grades.

1. Should I delete my ‘original files’ once I have imported them into Devonthink? Are the files actually inside the program or are they in their original location with links from Devonthink back to the files original location?

2. If I edit a file from its original location, will it sync the changes to file in Devonthink? Or do I need to re-import the file to Devonthink? Related question, will these files sync changes via dropbox?

3. If I import a pdf from say google books, can I translate it into a searchable and mark-up ready text via Devonthink?

4. I can see tags in the info. panel but I don’t seem to be able to add new tags. What am I doing wrong?

5. I have seen mentions of tabs. Are they available in the personal edition 2.0? Or must I upgrade to the professional edition? I have tried repeatedly to activate them via data>open in tabs command to no avail.

6. I am building a sizeable database in Bookends. Should I consider importing my booknotes into DevonThink?

7. I already have several information programs-- journler–for personal items, family stuff, receipts, haiku, etc., Notetaker [for course prep] and Notebook [for research]. [I tend to use a program for the one thing that I think it is best at doing.] I envision using this program mostly as a very advanced search engine and to help locate similar items. Am I selling it short? It seems like if I added DevonNote that it could replace Notetaker, for example. Am I right? Are there other uses I am missing here?

Any suggestions or help will be appreciated!!