OCR All Files in Place.

Hello,

New to DT. Just Purchased Office Pro. Think I’m going to like it. However, I have a large collection of PDF files (~6k) which are scanned with ScanSnap but not OCR’d. I’d like to OCR all these documents (I realize it will take some time)…

What is the best way to OCR lots of documents? The other requirement I have is that I want to maintain the “modification time” of the document since the document is really the same just now includes text. It seems that when you do a conversion inside DT it creates a duplicate PDF file. This isn’t really what I want since I would need to go back and delete all the other duplicate ones?

Can someone suggest a good solution?

Thanks!

-jr

There is a script in the DEVONacademy that can help you with this. Check the section “Example Scripts”.

Thanks. This has gotten me started in the right direction. I am not an AppleScript pro… This may be a silly question, but can someone tell me where I can find information on the different objects available in DT?

ex: The selection contains items, and those items contain a modification date. Where can I find the other fields those items contain?

Thanks,

-jr

If you use Script Editor, you can open the dictionary of DEVONthink Pro and that shows you what is available. Also check our online help for references to AppleScript information that you may find useful.
Another approach that may be a bit friendlier is to use Automator. On the distribution disk you can find a workflow to convert PDF files. There is also an OCR Items action that we provide.

Thanks. The dictionary was exactly what I needed…

I’ve basically got it mostly worked out. Here is the script in case anyone is interested.

-- OCR items without text
-- Save the original modification date.
-- Move the original non-text files into sub folder.
-- Created by Eric Böhnisch-Volkmann, Jan 22, 2008
-- Modified by James A. Russo, Dec 8, 2008
-- Copyright (c) 2008. All rights reserved.