Older Folders remain after synch

After I synch DTTG with Devonthink pro I see that DTTG still contains old folders and documents I have removed from Devonthink Pro. No matter how many times I synch the folders remain. Is there any way to remove them?

Are the groups still in the Mobile Sync group, did you empty the trash?

They are no longer in mobile synch and I have emptied the trash multiple times but they still remain

In this case it seems that the sync mechanism got, well, out of sync. Please pull the Reset switch in DEVONthink To Go’s Settings (at the bottom of the list of options) and re-sync. Sorry for the troubles.