On Documents and Information

On Documents and Information

Greetings, my fellow Devon-software users. I’d like to share some thoughts on the downsides of DevonThink with you, downsides and drawbacks that either I haven’t found a solution or workaround for or that may be true for other users, too, and should therefore be tackled by the Devon Development Forces as soon as possible.

DevonThink is a great application and I have been using it more or less intensely since its infancy. You see, I am a teacher and folks like me have to deal with tons of the most various information imaginable. DevonThink, so I thought, would help me keep track of all those worksheets, texts, diagrams and research data I had assembled in years past, pretty much the same Steve J. promised what Spotlight would do. And, so I hoped, DevonThink could thus prevent me from inventing the wheel twice. Finding and reusing old material would be much more efficient than creating it all over again every time I needed it. Unfortunately however, this never really worked for me. The reason for DT not living up to my expectations is rooted in the one great and painful gap in its feature set: It cannot handle documents.