One big file?

Hi,

I’m a newbie here (to both DevonThink and Apple) with the following basic questions:

1. How do I create different project files? Apparently, I’m missing something here but it would appear that the ‘File’ menu does not allow you to Save/Create new files.

2. Where are the files stored? (I checked the ‘Documents’ folder but, alas, no DevonThink folder).

3. Can I attach a link to an Excel file? Each time I drag an Excel file over it refuses to stay.

4. Most programs I use on the Mac get installed in their own directories within the Application folder. DT (seems to) ‘mount’ – appearing on the left panel within Finder. I’m checking out HogBay and it does the same thing. ???

5. Is there a DT tutorial or a Flash type demo to showcase (unravel) DT’s features and potential?

Thanks

Kangaroo, I’m new to DevonThink but not to Apple. DevonThink expands to a disk image “(seems to) mount” So all you have to do is Drag DevonThink to your application folder and your all set.

As for DevonThink specific features. I can’t help you there. I’ve noticed that where the DevonThink database is located but I still have question’s myself. As in

1. "If I create a rich text file in DevonThink where is the file located in my hard drive?" - is it stored in the database file or what?
    2.Also if I import a document can I delete the original file that I imported from.
    3.And does DevonThink have a files folder that stores the documents that you have stored in your Database.

I just registered DevonThink today and I’m learning how to use it.

Paul

Hello kangaroo and pmconaway.  I’ve been using DT long enough to answer a few of your questions:

kangaroo:

1. You can create new content in DT either by clicking the "New Rich Text" icon in the toolbar, or by going to the "Content" menu, choosing "New" and whatever type of content you are going to create.