Optimal size for search/Magic Hat?

I clip almost everything I read on the Web to one of two folders - one for potentially work-related articles, the other for everything else. I have broad interests, so “everything else” covers a lot of ground.

That results in a couple of big databases. My work-related clippings go to a group in my work database; that group now has 369 items in it. Everything else goes in a “Clippings” database, which now has 442 items in it. I’m a relative newbie to DevonThink, so I created these databases April 6.

Is this the optimal way to organize these databases, from a search and Magic Hat perspective? Will I get the best results this way? Are there other gotchas I may encounter? I can think of one possibility - the databases might get huge over time and I might want to watch out for that. Is that a concern?

Thanks!

You’d have to define “best results”. See Also won’t work across databases, so if you require connections between work and non-work files, you’d need to use one database. On the other hand, the full search (see Tools > Search) searches all open databases.

Personally, I advocate smaller, more focused databases for better performance, faster syncing, data-safety in the event of a catastrophe (avoiding the “all your eggs in one basket” problem), and the ability to close unused databases.

Thank you, Bluefrog!

A reasonable question. The problem with answering it is that I’m saving these documents “in case I need them for something someday.” So it’s hard for me to figure out what the use cases are. However, here are several that I can think of: