Organisation with regards to AI

Hello,

I am seriously considering investing in DTOP. I’ve been reading through the posts in this subforum (~ half way through), but I feel like some of the things I am reading are out of date now due to DT updates, so I wanted to check something with you.

I am a PhD student and one of the main uses for DT would be a scientific literature DB. I want it to help organise papers and enable me to search efficiently, but I am also very interested in the AI, it sounds like it could really help make links and could be great for creating ideas.

Hence I am interested in how organisation within DB affects AI. I do understand that there are as many ways of organising content as there are users, so I am not asking for “the” way, but for guidance, so that I can optimise my way for the AI.

Firstly, it sounds like earlier on groups were important for the AI, whereas tags were ignored. Is this still the case, or are groups and tags now equivalent with regard to AI?

Secondly, do groups (and tags if they are equivalent) affect certain parts of the AI or all of it? I.e. are they only important for automatic grouping and sending your newly added documents to the right place, or do they also affect searches and links made through “see also”?

Thirdly, I understand that more granular hierarchy might be better for the AI. I am happy to do that if that helps, but I wonder if I can shoot myself in the foot a bit here if I am not strict enough about classification.