Papers notes & DTPO

This is my first post on the forums, so apologies if this topic has already been covered.
I am a doctoral student using Papers, Bookends, DTPO and Nisus Writer in my workflow. I like the way I can find journal articles in Papers and then read through them full screen and make notes in a window that overlays the full screen mode. This makes reading and synthesising the article easy. However, when I sync my Papers folder with DTPO, the notes I have taken are missing (or at least I can’t find them). Has anyone come across a similar issues using Papers and DTPO in this way. If so are there any workarounds or things that I have missed, that I should be doing.
Any assistance would be greatfully received.

Dave
Auckland, New Zealand.

Hi Dave

I have a similar system set up using DTPO to catalogue journal articles and Skim to read them and make notes. When I open the paper with Skim I can see my notes but DTPO only shows the unmodified PDF file. When you say that you can’t see your notes is that because you are opening the file in DTPO? If you open it again in Papers are your notes still there?

Jeremy

DEVONthink doesn’t alter the indexed (or imported) PDF, so his notes should be visible in Papers.

I don’t use Skim, for the simple reason that it limits notes and annotations to PDFs only. But I’ve got many file types in my collections of references and notes, and I want to be able to make comments or annotations concerning documents regardless of the file type.