Password protection after sync to another computer

Hello,

First-time post here. Hello, and thanks for all the insights along the way. I have been using DT for a couple of years now, but I have a recurring problem that urged me to discuss it here.

For me, the syncing of a database with password protection never really worked. It is a bizarre problem. So I created a password-protected database with the (finally) new method from the menu and synced this database to another computer. The first-month password protection works, and then all of a sudden, I can open the database without a password prompt.

I have not saved the password in the keychain or anywhere. DT stops asking for the password after a while, and databases open fine without pw.

This has also happened with the old way a few times. I’m using the new iCloud sync, which is also clunky, like the inbox not being synced and a general very slow sync. That the database opens without a password always happens on the computer that the database get synced to, never on the one where I created it.

Does anybody else experience such a behavior? How is this possible?
For me, the sync was always the Achilles heel of DT, and I’m now considering using something else I want this to work reliably but would so much prefer to stay with DT. So any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you very much for reading, and have a great weekend!

How did you close the database the last time? Does it work again after rebooting?

Sometimes I just quit DT and don’t close the Database manually. It is all a quite erratic behaviour. I can close the database and open it without password. Also shows without the little key icon next to it. Sometimes does, sometimes doesn’t …

Is there a possibility to reset all sync data so I can start fresh? It seems that so many old databases randomly show up under the sync settings.