PDF Table of Contents?

Hi!

I am new to DevonThink and I think it’ll be a great tool to manage the different kinds of contents I have on my computer. I specifically have a lot of PDFs, many of which have their whole table of contents bookmarked. In Preview, these tables of contents appear in the Drawer on the right side, but in DevonThink, I can’t find a way to display them.

Is there a way?

If there isn’t, then I am hereby suggesting the feature for DevonThink 2 or whenever you can implement it, as it would make the indexing of PDFs that much more useful.

Thanks!

Félix

Hi, Félix. We are using Apple’s PDFKit to display PDFs, and bookmarks are not yet available. We hope this and some other useful features will be added by Apple in a future release of PDFKit.

Bookmarking of pages in documents in DTPro is one feature that would make my life immensely easier. I think it’s a mistake to tie implementing this feature to Apple’s PDF Toolkit for the following reasons

1. Apple’s implementation of bookmarks in Preview sucks! It’s useless.

2. This feature would be easy to implement in DT Pro.

All that is really required is for DT Pro to create a record storing the pointer to the currently open document together with the page number. This information is already available to the application, it has to be to support the existing functionality.