Potentially Massive DB Size – Question from a Newbie

So I’m a brand new user (and proud owner!) of DEVONthink Pro Office. I’ve been looking for a document and file management system for the past couple years now, and I’m thinking DTPO can be it. I’m currently an avid Evernote user, but mostly because it’s the best option right underneath DTPO. It’s simple and gets the job done, but doesn’t have a lot of the advanced features like DTPO does.

I’d love to potentially store the entirety of my digital life in DTPO. Whether that’s one database, or multiple (seems to be what I should do,) doesn’t matter to me. I’m a freelance filmmaker and deal with a vast variety of file types of all sizes. I’d love to be able to store my scripts, video files, freelance work/projects, and everything else Evernote stores for me currently. Keeping project receipts, invoices, inspiration boards, etc. would be awesome to have in one place. Evernote supports some of what I’ve stated, but the lack of organization options in Evernote leave me wanting to pull my hair out.

Other things I’d love to store/index:

• Genealogy documents, photos, videos, etc.
  • Family home videos, journals, photos, etc.

Okay, so here’s my question: Am I over doing it here? Obviously the file sizes on this kind of stuff would be way larger than 1TB or whatever most of the cloud storage options are with DTPO for syncing. Would WebDAV be my only option? Setting up my own server or something? Or can I just index various external hard drives, RAIDs, etc. with projects on them so I can have a searchable index of everything? Am I just completely missing the mark of what DTPO is good at? Is it only for documents? Am I overthinking what this app can do? Does any of what I’m saying make any sense? :wink: