Preparing to Scan Hundreds of Books, Magazines-Necessary HD

Hello, I’ve owned DTPO for a while now, but have only been tinkering with it and Devonthink To Go a little. This summer I finally have some time off, and I’m preparing to change my life around next year, move to a new country, and would really like to be more mobile, and able to fit in a cheap, tiny 1-room apartment again. I’m a newbie, so I apologize if this is posted in the wrong forum (I would have posted in the ‘Newbie’ section if there was one).

Basically, I’m preparing to scan about 500 books, 500 magazines, and thousands of pieces of paper. I’m not even worried yet about organizing the database for the perfect research project, I’ll only be using simple tags to cover a wide range of subjects.

I own DTPO, an S1500M Scanner, a 2009 Macbook that’s been getting really slow lately, was going to invest in an OtherWorldComputing 480 gb SSD Drive, but now am thinking about instead getting one of the brand new Macbook Air (256 gb of flash space) or Mac Minis (at least 500 gb). I will wait to get that soon before really beginning my Devonthink project.