Printer recommendations

I apologize for what might appear to be a completely irrelevant topic to DT, but having purchased a ScanSnap S1500, based mostly on the praise it receives from people in the DT community, I am compelled to come here to get a few ideas on printers. Ideally, I’d like a printer that is to printing in color (& wi-fi, if at all possible) as the S1500 is to scanning. Sadly, that doesn’t seem to exist.

Does anybody have a printer they’ve fallen in love with?

Well since I am new to DT, I guess I found something I can comment on.

On a mac I have had no better luck then with Brother Printers. I had been using a 8870DW for 5 years or so, and my wife a smaller 7840w (wireless). I also have a canon pro9000markII for color photo’s.

For laser prints, I never had an issue with the Brothers.

For photo’s I actually think the Canon does as good or a better job then most places I used to go to get them printed. But you really need to use photo paper, I think it does a meh job on standard 20# stock.

Still for color documents, I did not love the inkjet canon, so not so much out of need (as the 8870 was working just fine), but just because I do occasionally want to print color documents which are not really photo’s per say (think a web page with a detailed picture that just captures better with some color, but I would not want to print on photo paper).

So last week I bought the brother 9560CDW. So far I think it is a great printer, cant say I really have any material complaints. There are a few small cons which I will list below, but in general, it just works.

Now for what it is worth, I dont use the scanner on it, because I use the 1500m, so where I assume it works, I dont really care, and have not even tested it.

I used the duplexer just to try it, but I also rarely duplex. That said, it worked fine with no jamming at all in the 12 or so prints I did.

Cant comment on tonor replacement yet, as printer is new.

Cons (all small):