Problem: Setting smart rule for auto tagging indexed files based on text content

Hi,

Background: I’m using Obsidian as me markdown editor and primary note taking app, while using DT as my library for all the clipped articles, PDFs, etc.

To better integrate my notes in Obsidian and DT, I’m indexing the “vault” folder (à la Obsidian, this could be any folder in Finder), where all my .md notes are stored, in DT and thus being able to preserve all the backlinks/wikilinks, etc.

The problem: Tags
In all my .md notes, all the #tags I type in (and detected as tags in Obsidian), seems to be just plain texts to DT.
I’d like to set up a smart rule that scans the text, find any string with #, e.g. #TagName1, and add a tag #TagName1 in DT.

Since I have my own tagging system across all my apps, doing this should allow me to integrate my .md notes into the hierarchical tag structure in my DT.

Maybe I need a script to do this, but I’m no coder and haven’t find threads like this. (or maybe I’ve missed? If so, please kindly point me there. Thanks!)

Cheers!

Do you have a list of tags, or are the possibilities endless? Is there a delimiter - i.e. in your text, ist the #tag always followed by a space or other character? Are your tags the only incidence of # in your text?

Depending on your answers, this should be easily coded (I’m sitting in front of the first steps already)

PS presumably the preference “convert hashtags to tags” doesn’t work for you? As far as I can tell, that will do almost exactly what you want, adding tags which are marked with #, although it will name the tag TagName1 rather than #TagName1

And just for the sake of it, because coding is fun, this is the script which would do the same, assuming the tags are all delimited by a space, a comma or full stop:

on performSmartRule(theRecords)
	tell application id "DNtp"
		repeat with theRecord in theRecords
			set documentText to plain text of theRecord
			set theTags to tags of theRecord
			repeat