Problems adding files to indexed database

Hello, I’m new to DT and perhaps don’t understand how indexed databases work.

Yesterday I used “File > Index Files and Folders…” to create an indexed database. I want to use an indexed database so Markdown files are accessible in other apps, specifically Obsidian and Typora.

Yesterday: Created new indexed database. I was able to add and remove files in Finder and the changes were automatically updated in DT. This is exactly the behavior I was hoping for.

Today: I cannot do the same thing. If I used Finder to add a file to the indexed folder, that file does NOT appear in DTs list of files for that database.

Other findings:

• Using Finder to rename a file in the indexed folder results in DT automatically showing the new name. (Good)
  • If I create a link in a Markdown file (that DT is showing) to link to a file also in the indexed folder but NOT showing, I am able to click that link (in DT) and DT will then display that file in the document window, but the file still does NOT appear in the list of files.
  • If I manually import the file that is already in the indexed folder but NOT showing in the list of files in DT, then the files appears in the DT list but I then have a duplicate file in Finder ("-1" is added to the file name).

The ideal situation is the way DT was behaving yesterday (same day I created the indexed database): Add a file in Finder, it appears in DT’s list of files for that database.

Is there something I’m doing wrong?
Is this normal behavior for indexed folders?

Things I’ve tried:

• Selecting “File > Update Indexed Files” … has no effect
  • “Create Spotlight Index” was turned off. I turned it on … no change in behavior.
  • Clicking “Rebuild” in “Database Properties…”
  • Restarting DT
  • Restarting the machine (MacBook Pro purchased new last year) + restarting DT
  • Again, manually importing … creates duplicate file in Finder