Problems with Making Links

I am new to DT and to this forum. Sorry for my stupid question (and also for my poor English). I fail at the attempt to create a simpel link from one document to another one; that is, I can make it by means of Format Menu/Make Link but the clickable text provides just a Safari window with devonwiki/.

What have I done wrong? Or, in other words:

1. What’s a Wiki-style link and how to get it under control?
  2. What’s to do to link two documemts without any Wiki-style functionality?

I read the DT Help (Reference Guide) but couldn’t find an adequate answer.

Thanks in advance für any advice!

Peter

Peter, if you wish to link selected text to another document in your database, just Control-click (right click) on it and choose the contextual menu option, Link to. Then navigate to the document that’s to be the target of the link.

Example: in a rich text document, you’ve selected the text string, Harry. Control-click on the selection and use Link To to establish a hyperlink to a document about Harry, titled “Harry’s Life and Times”. You have created a “static” hyperlink.

DEVONthink also has a Wiki option. In Preferences > Editing check the WikiLinks: Automatic option. Now, if you enter the title of an existing document in your database, it will create a link to that document. Example: type Harry’s Life and Times into a rich text document. If WikiLinking is turned on, that string will become a link to the document with the same name. If, however, there’s no such document already in your database, you can type a string and invoke Make Link. A new document will be created with that name, based on the template in Preferences > Editing.

Note: Turning on WikiLinking will increase the memory requirements of your database, so take that into account if you are working with large databases. Remember that the Wiki feature can be turned on or off in Preferences > Editing.